NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Support Forum » What Did I Fry?

August 05, 2012
by flare

I accidentally connected the 9V battery directly to the power strip (bypassing the power regulator).

Now the LCD does not display anything under power. It used to work, but now does not.

I am brand new at this stuff. I'm a tenth grader.

What is most likely wrong? How to test it? What needs replacing?

August 06, 2012
by bretm

Are you saying the LCD doesn't display anything but the microcontroller is still working, or that's what you need to determine? To check if it's the microcontroller, just try to reprogram it (upload the LED blinker program to it or something). If that works and the PC says it was successful, then assembly the LED blinker project and see if the LED blinker program actually works. If that works, then the microcontroller is OK and the problem actually is the LCD.

But I would guess the microcontroller is not OK. 9V is well over the maximum rating. www.nerdkits.com/store has replacements for $6.

August 06, 2012
by bretm

*assemble

August 07, 2012
by flare

i tried to upload the blinker program, but all that happened was that i got an error message. i changed the upload address, yet it still says it cannot find the path. this is what it said:

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601] Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:UsersOwner>cd c:usersownerdownloadscodeled_blink