NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Basic Electronics » Need help with electronics using a op-amp

August 12, 2010
by Ralphxyz

This is in conjunction with my thread about tying a strain gage to the MCU:. I have tested a strain gage (transducer) and find that I am getting a tenth of a milivolt variable signal.

For 20# .5mv 30# .6mv 40# .7mv and for 70# I got .8 mv.

Now I want/need to tie the output to the Nerdkit MCU ADC.

I am not a electronics engineer, I am not even a electronics hobbyist. I am just a curious unemployed guy (not strange, just curious about all this wonderful technology surrounding us) who needs some understanding about a op-amp.

Actually I do not even know if a op-amp is the best way to go.

Any way I need to amplify my tenths of a millivolt signal up to a millivolt or even 100 millivolt signal to read in/on the MCU.

I have a LM324N Quad OP-Amp I got at Radio Shack but that seems to want Vcc between 15 - 32 volt. This doesn't seem to fit my design criteria which of course I haven't the slightest idea what I am doing but it just seems like a lot to ask to just multiply a millivolt by a 100.

I also have some 741 op-amps and I'll gladly order some thing else from Mouser or other suppliers if needed.

So what might be a op-amp that i could use the same power supply as the Nerdkit? I have a great supply of wall warts with multiple outputs so I am flexible in power supplies output.

I use a 15 volt power supply that probable came from a PDA or even a portable computer for my everyday Nerdkit experiments.

1. Do I want/need to use a op-amp?
  2. What might be a recommended op-amp?
  3. Do you have a schematic for a dc signal amplification (the spec sheet schematics just confuse me).

How about adding a couple of op-amps to a Nerdkit grab bag wouldn't that be great.