NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Project Help and Ideas » PLEASE HELP WITH STRAIN GAUGE PROJECT

March 30, 2010
by u2slo4me

Hello everyone. I'm a nerdkit newbie and need some help with the strain gauge project. I have completed the temp sensor project with 100% sucsess and now I am struggleing with the strain gauge project. I built my kit exactly as the guide describes. The the strain gauge video says that is basically the standard nerd kit plus the amp. My kit looks diffent than the one in the video. I was able to figure out most of the layout, but still dont understand a few things such as. 1. what is the green component on baord locations 4 and 8? (it looks like a cap to me but not sure if so what rating). 2.what is the cap on the other side of the board located at approx pins 14 and 16 on right side of MCU? 3.I have pins 20 and 21 on the MCU powered from the rail +5vdc and pin 22 on the MCU grounded at the rail as instructed by the temp gauge project. Should I leave them there? 4. I noticed that the voltage regulator has been removed. Is the power source +9vdc or +5vdc and were does it come from? 5.The .1uF cap has also been removed from MCU pins 7 and 8. Is it still needed. 6. would any one share a schematic of the strain gauge set up with me? Not knowing much it would really help me out on this (my second project). 7. One last question, is there and effective way the measure the analog signal coming from the output of the amp with a mulimeter? Not sure if I can post my email? can anyone tell me if thats ok?

Would like to thank everyone in advance for any help. It is greatly appreciated. I love this site and am having a ball!!!!!!

Chuck

March 31, 2010
by hevans
(NerdKits Staff)

Hi Chuck,