NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Project Help and Ideas » Beer FermentBot Phase 1

May 01, 2009
by DonNYC

I have completed my first project!

I brew my own beer and need to control temperature during fermentation. I already have a temp controller but it does not do everything I want. I can only hold the set temp and I have to manually adjust it if I want to change over time. The problem is that I brew at our family vacation house 100 miles from where I live.

I have posted the code here. I am new to C programming and I realize that it is not the best code but it works.

Using the thermometer as a starting point I was able to have output pins trigger at specific temps. I have one pin for heating and one for cooling. I still need to work out the wiring for the relays.

Using the realtime clock I can program a temperature schedule. In the code I have it increase 4 degrees in ½ degree increments over 7 days.

I would like to add logging to a computer. I have data streaming to the serial port but it is dumping too much data to put it in all in a log file. My choices are to either have a script on the computer only log data at given intervals or program the NerdKit to only send data at fewer intervals. Any ideas?

Thanks,

Don

May 01, 2009
by mcai8sh4

Don - you've amalgamated 2 of my favorite things... technology and beer! Sir, I salute you!

I'm loving the idea, and jealous that I don't brew my own (although here in the uk, there are plenty of microbreweries, so real beers always near.)