NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Microcontroller Programming » Help with the LED Marquee

April 26, 2009
by BolanosAV

Hi I am completely new to this so please keep that in mind when you respond to this but I just got my nerdkit not long ago and Ive done the projects that came with it to better understand how it works but while i understand how it works physically i have a hard time understanding how it works on the programing side.

I wrote an email to nerdkit support to see if i could get help and i received an email explaining the make files. I have a much better understanding of the make files now but i am still extremely confused as to what Python is... and how i am supposed to use it to make the LED marquee...

The led marquee does not seem like the other nerdkit projects when it comes to the programing and uploading. mainly because of the .py and .h file

I have the LED Marquee made its just not programed. thats where I am stuck. I downloaded Python 2.6 but i dont know what im supposed to do with it. And before i knew I had to download python i edited the make file cause i thought thats what i was supposed to do. here is what i made.

keep in mind that i am new to microcontrollers outside of the nerdkit

GCCFLAGS=-g -Os -Wall -mmcu=atmega168 LINKFLAGS=-Wl,-u,vfprintf -lprintf_flt -Wl,-u,vfscanf -lscanf_flt -lm AVRDUDEFLAGS=-c avr109 -p m168 -b 115200 -P COM3 LINKOBJECTS=../libnerdkits/delay.o ../libnerdkits/lcd.o ../libnerdkits/uart.o

all: ledarray2-upload

ledarray2.hex: ledarray2.c make -C ../libnerdkits avr-gcc ${GCCFLAGS} ${LINKFLAGS} -o ledarray2.o ledarray2.c ${LINKOBJECTS} avr-objcopy -j .text -O ihex ledarray2.o ledarray2.hex

font.h: font.txt python fontmaker.py > font.h

ledarray2-upload: ledarray2.hex avrdude ${AVRDUDEFLAGS} -U flash:w:ledarray2.hex:a