NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Project Help and Ideas » Questions re: debouncing input switches, switch matrix, and latching outputs

December 21, 2009
by iamtheari

First off, some background on the project I am hoping to put together. This is the whole reason I ordered the Nerdkit - because using a Z80 would have become too much hassle with all the supporting hardware, when the Atmel chip can do it all on one IC.

I am a guitarist. I want to build a remote effects-switching system, because nothing on the market does it quite the way I want. Plus, it'll cost less and be a lot more fun to do it myself! Here are the basic requirements for the two-unit system, each unit having its own MCU:

A. Remote Control Unit: 8-16 footswitches, SPST momentary. The MCU should be aware of the event of a switch being pressed and be able to determine which switch was pressed. Each switch will act to toggle one relay in the Rackmount Unit. If possible, it should also have talkback LEDs, one per switch, to inform the user which relays in the Rackmount Unit are on and off. The Remote Control Unit will receive power from the Rackmount Unit and send commands to the Rackmount Unit, all through one cable (I am thinking of using Cat-5 because it's cheap and easy to get in any length, but a MIDI cable is also acceptable.) A serial protocol can be used for the communication.