NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Project Help and Ideas » Build my own USB to serial converter to use with Nerdkit

August 02, 2015
by hacker

Unfortunately I lost the USB to serial cable that came with my Nerdkit. I have been holding on to it for a couple of years until my son was old enough to put it together, and now I can't order spare parts. I have seen a couple of postings about how to adapt a PL2303 USB to Serial cable for use with the Nerdkit, but it wasn't enough information for me. Would anyone be able to explain what I need to buy, and how to wire it up?

August 02, 2015
by JKITSON

Hi

I will dig my cable out and see what info I can come up with. I will be Monday eve or Tue but I will try. I think Rick or Bobba Mosfet could do much better than me. They should pick up on this thread..

Jim Kitson

August 03, 2015
by Rick_S

This FTDI Cable at Sparkfun would work just fine. All you would need to get then would be some male to male jumpers or just use the hookup wire you got with your nerdkit.

To wire it to your nerdkit, you would connect the Black wire to the GND rail (blue rail on the breadboard), connect the Red wire to the +5v rail (Red rail on the breadboard), connect the Orange wire to the MCU pin 2 (row 12 on the breadboard if the chip is placed as per the nerdkit guide), and the Yellow wire to the MCU pin 3 (row 13 on the breadboard if the chip is placed as per the nerdkit guide).

Most any USB-Serial adapter would work, but Sparkfun is reputable, and they sell genuine FTDI chips so you know the drivers for their cables will work.

Hope that helps,

Rick

August 03, 2015
by JKITSON

Morning Rick...

Good info. I think I will get one also just to have a spare..

Jim

August 03, 2015
by Ralphxyz

All sorts of things use FTDI so I'd pick up a couple of the FTDI modules.