NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Sensors, Actuators, and Robotics » Proximity Sensor Project

October 22, 2009
by timk

Hi I am a new NerdKit trainee and would like some assistance with a project. I need some examples of how to interface the nerdkit with some industrial sensors.

Allen-Bradley -Rockwell Automation Sensor Catalog Number 872C-DH3NN12-D4 Input: 10-30VDC Load: 200mA Output: N.O. NPN Shielded

The Sensor has 3 connection 1 - "+" (Positive) 3 - "-" (Negative)
4 - Load +

What I would like to know how to do is this.

I have 2 of the above sensors I will refer to them as SA and SB. All I want the circuit to do is turn on a relay if SA detects an object and SB Does not. In other words. Every time SA detects a metal object SA should also. It SA Detects and SB does not then turn on the relay.

I realize I will have to power the sensors with a different power source but I am not sure how to design the circuit or software.

Any help would be great

Thanks

P.S. This kit has been great so far.

Thanks

October 22, 2009
by n3ueaEMTP

Timk, I too am like you, still in the trainee phase. Most of the projects I've build so far have been nothing more than adaptations of the original source code that came with my kit. That being said, I have ventured out of the cut and paste programming method to do something similar to what you need done. If I understand you correctly, you want a relay to activate ONLY when both sensors detect the metal object. Here is the code I use to reset a counter (which also resets the EEPROM counter to zero as well)

// check the counter reset button & the alarm reset button to reset the "Total" counter
if (((PINC & (1<<PC4)) == 0) && ((PINB & (1<<PB5)) == 0))
    {
    counter = 0;
    eeprom_write_byte(0, counter);
    }