NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Project Help and Ideas » Load cell help

August 17, 2012
by countryguy828

Hello all, my first post here...

I am new to digital electronics and microcontrollers and all but I have programming experience.

I have completed the 3 projects in the nerd kits guide with relative ease.

I have an idea kicking around in my head. It would require 4 load cells. I have watched the digital scale video several times now and understand the theory behind it. Now heres the question.

What would be the best way to connect 4 load cells to the nerd kit ATmega168? Here is where my in-experience with electronics comes in. Is it possible to wire the 4 load cells together and only use 4 pins from the ATmega168(2 power pins and 2 sense pins)?

Perhaps there is another way to attack the problem, I need to measure weight upwards of 1,000 pounds. Also I will probably need a way to calibrate the scale after the final code is flashed to the ATmega168 so I was figureing adding in a potentiometer for that.

Thanks for the input, Dave

August 17, 2012
by Ralphxyz

Hi countryguy828, there are a lot of strain gage discussions here in the nerdkits forum.

You would not connect the individual load cells to the mcu you most liketly will need a amplifier first.

I received a lot of help here when I was playing around with load cells (strain gages).

Ralph

August 18, 2012
by countryguy828

Ok spent some time today drawing... This is my first idea that I am fairly sure won't work but I don't know. At least it illustrates what I was trying to say above.

Schematic

Dave

August 18, 2012
by countryguy828

Did some re-drawing and this is what my second and better idea look like, will it work?

Schematic idea 2

Dave

August 19, 2012
by pcbolt

Dave -