NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Support Forum » Windows 7 once again

July 04, 2012
by Ralphxyz

I have been using windows 7 for the past three months it has been working fine.

Now I cannot get beyond:

Connecting to programmer:

I am using this Prolific driver:

PL2303_Prolific_DriverInstaller_v1.5.0.exe

I have problems with Windows 7 BSD (Blue Screen of Death) every couple of days and it was after one of these crashes that I got this problem.

Also there are always 2 Prolific com ports even if I remove one it reappears on the next reboot.

Any ideas?

Thanks,

Ralph

July 05, 2012
by Ralphxyz

Well that was easy, if not normal Windows aggravation.

I had said there were always two Prolific com ports COM3 and COM4.

For the past three months I had been using COM4.

For some reason Windows after a crash decided to not use COM4 any longer but is happy using COM3.

So it is working once I changed the COM port.

What a pain, oh well I just determined that I can use my Maxtor TripleHead2Go to power my three monitors with UBUNTU so now I just need to learn how to install UBUNTU and I'll make that my preferred OS.

I haven't run Linux since it came on 36 floppy disks so it should be fun to see how it looks now.

Ralph

July 05, 2012
by pcbolt

Ralph -

I might be taking the Linux leap pretty soon myself. I found out you can run the whole OS off a thumb drive.

July 06, 2012
by Ralphxyz

I found out you can run the whole OS off a thumb drive.

Yeah the actual Linux kernel is actually very small it is the tons of libraries that come with a Linux install that take up so much space.

Of course I also have a Rasberry Pi coming which I hope to run Linux on.

Ralph

July 06, 2012
by pcbolt

You didn't buy Rick's PI off of E-Bay did you?

July 06, 2012
by bluestang