NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Project Help and Ideas » GPS Code Help.

March 29, 2012
by haaser

I am new to this and I do not understand most of this code. I am hoping that someone can help me figure this out. First off thank you to E.Soderberg for coding this and getting me this far.

I am trying to take a NMEA RMC string from a FM 750(Agriculture GPS monitor). The strings that are coming from the monitor look like this.

$GPRMC,211501,A,5112.671694,N,10225.010369,W,000.03,284.2,290312,11.3,E,R1E $GPRMC,211502,A,5112.671692,N,10225.010362,W,000.05,112.4,290312,11.3,E,R1C $GPRMC,211503,A,5112.671692,N,10225.010364,W,000.04,112.4,290312,11.3,E,R1A $GPRMC,211504,A,5112.671691,N,10225.010353,W,000.07,93.1,290312,11.3,E,R24 $GPRMC,211505,A,5112.671691,N,10225.010350,W,000.06,93.1,290312,11.3,E,R27 $GPRMC,211506,A,5112.671693,N,10225.010357,W,000.06,270.9,290312,11.3,E,R16 $GPRMC,211507,A,5112.671692,N,10225.010358,W,000.02,270.9,290312,11.3,E,R1D $GPRMC,211508,A,5112.671692,N,10225.010358,W,000.07,270.9,290312,11.3,E,R17 $GPRMC,211509,A,5112.671692,N,10225.010362,W,000.04,270.9,290312,11.3,E,R1C $GPRMC,211510,A,5112.671694,N,10225.010355,W,000.10,270.9,290312,11.3,E,R13

The code that E.Soderberg will convert NMEA RMS strings and output them on the screen in a very nice format. My problem is that converts RMS and I need it to convert RMC strings. I do not understand the ISR event and I am hoping that someone can help me with this.

The project goal is to get the long. and lat. so that I can do a math calculation to calculate distance travelled. When it reaches 7 meters travelled I need it to trigger an event and reset itself to count another 7 meters and trigger the same event again.

Existing Code:

// gps.c
// for ATmega328p nano
// by E.Soderberg

#include "../libnerdkits/io_328p.h"