NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Project Help and Ideas » Frequency Counter with LCD help

February 27, 2012
by nismotony

Hi guys, I'm trying to build a frequency counter that will measure 10Hz - 30kHz. I have yet to experiment with the timers and counters so this is going to be a good learning project for me. I have read the tutorial and have seen the app note from Atmel. It seems that I need to be able to use the T0 or T1 pins on the ATMEGA168. This are occupied by the nerdkits LCD though. Any suggestions? This project has really been kicking my butt, I'm an analog design engineer. Any help or code examples will be much appreciated.

Tony

February 27, 2012
by pcbolt

Hi Tony -

I think the way I would approach it is to use say a 3.6v Zener diode hooked up in parallel with the input signal. Then you can use any of the input port pins (i.e. PB4 or PB5). You can use the pin change interrupts to count the number of pulses coming through (just set the interrupt to fire on rising edge only). You can set up a timer as well and after a certain number of pulse counts, divide by the time elapsed and then update the LCD with the frequency. The Zener should take a sine wave and turn it into a half-wave square pulse. Watch the Nerdkit Clock video and PS/2 keyboard video for info on interrupts.

February 28, 2012
by JKITSON

pcbolt..

FYI

From the data sheets INT0 & INT1 are the only interrupts that allow triggering on rise, fall, high or low. The other interrupts will give an interrupt on any pin change, ie high to low then low to high. I would very much like to use PD2 or PD3 with trigger on rise. Trying to change the lcd library to use other pins was beyond my abilities at this time.....

Jim

February 28, 2012
by pcbolt

@Jim