NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Basic Electronics » Speakers with LEDs that light with the music

November 14, 2011
by Azh321

Hi all, I am a programmer and still very new to electronics, so I am attempting a project that doesnt involve an MCU at all, just some basic electronics. I have disassembled a few pairs of computer speakers, which I want to run together, powered from a wall socket preferably, but I want to wire a bunch of LEDs with the speakers and have them light up with the music.

A friend of mine did this, based on this: http://www.instructables.com/id/Music-LED-Light-Box/step6/Building-the-circuit/ but it has a few problems. The lights are very dim and it only works when he turns the music up extremely loud. So how could I do this, hopefully with the supplies from my 3 nerdkits + the extra LEDs I bought? The project I listed is calling for a TIP31c resistor which I do not have.

Any help? I wanna jam to my music with lights! Thanks

November 14, 2011
by Azh321

Typo, TIP31C transistor, not resistor.

November 14, 2011
by mongo

I did a similar thing back in high school. Color organs were very popular in the 1970's and there were good ones as well as bad. The better ones were wired to the sound system so the room noise would not have an effect on the results.