NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Basic Electronics » Nerdkit/Arduino with EL wire

September 01, 2011
by thatguy

Hey guys,

I wan't to be able to turn on/off an EL wire via my nerdkit or Arduino board, the EL wire will light up if its plugged into the 5 volt and GND on the breadboard directly from the voltage regulator.

If I wish to power the EL wire from the micro controller, I cannot, I am a little new to EL wire. I would also like to point out that the EL wire has an inverter on it also which is necessary to power it.

Has anyone had any experience with this?

Much appreciated in advance !

September 01, 2011
by bretm

El wire needs a relatively high a/c voltage to light up. That's what the inverter is for. Does your inverter have a logic-level input to switch it off and on?

September 01, 2011
by bretm

Oh wait, you said it does work from 5v, so it's the inverter that you're connecting to 5v and gnd. In that case, do you know how much current it needs? If less than about 800mA you can use the n-mosfet that comes with the nedkit to controll the 5v supply.

September 01, 2011
by thatguy

I probably sound like an idiot here.... but how can i tell what mA it requires? I've checked the ebay page i've bought it from and cannot tell....

Thanks bretm

September 01, 2011
by bretm

Often you can't, you just have to measure it using a multimeter. Make sure the multimeter is set to current-measuring mode, that the leads are connected to the right connectors for current measurement, and then put the multimeter in series with the circuit you're measuring, in this case it would go in between GND and the inverter, or between Vcc and the inverter.

September 01, 2011
by bretm