NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Support Forum » Programming in Linux (Ubuntu)

August 05, 2011
by Volt_Amps

Hi,

Im new to Linux and I've noticed that the guide is written for somewhat experienced users.

Can someone help me out with instructions from pages 42 to 43 (Compiling)? I just want to make sure I do everything correctly in the terminal so if I have a problem I'll know it's hardware related.

Thank you.

PS More details more better.

August 06, 2011
by Volt_Amps

Forgot to mention it's the micro kit, temp sensor project

August 06, 2011
by Ralphxyz

So did you get the Initialload program loaded and running?

Did you make changes "Welcome VA" to the initialload program or are you just trying to jump in with the tempsensor program?

Do you know how to use the command line in Linux?

Ralph

August 06, 2011
by Ralphxyz

So did you get the Initialload program loaded and running?

Did you make changes "Welcome Volt_Amps" to the initialload program or are you just trying to jump in with the tempsensor program?

Do you know how to use the Command Line in Linux (now that's a silly question, but nowadays everybody tends to start with a GUI (Graphical User Interface) and some never (God forgive) actually use the Command Line)?

Ralph

August 06, 2011
by Volt_Amps

I have not got initialload running. I've got as far as to download it and pull it up in gedit and I'm stuck there. I am familiar with using the terminal, however, I know very little about it and navigating my way through it.

I got confused by the /dev/ttyUSB0 because I kept getting a message like not authorized or something then somebody told me to do "sudo chmod 775 /dev/ttyUSB0" and I guess that worked cause it wasn't rejected or anything.