NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Basic Electronics » Which way does electricity flow? Positive-to-Negative or Vice Versa?

July 21, 2011
by rboggs10

Wow! Just a few minutes ago I got majorly confused. I have been playing with electronics for about 7 months now and always had the idea that electricity flowed from positive to negative but just now came across an article that says it flows from negative to positive. Can someone please shed light onto this subject for me?

July 21, 2011
by Ralphxyz

Benjamin Franklin said electricity flows from positive to negative.

So no one questioned it, after all he is the "inventor" of electricty.

Eventually some really smart guys determined that it actually "flows" from negative to positive.

I am still at the point in my understanding of all things electronics that I really do not care.

There are pictures now showing lightning flowing up from earth to the sky which are really fantastic.

Ralph

July 21, 2011
by mongo