NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Support Forum » Unable to get 328p to upload - PD7 undeclared

July 10, 2011
by konakat

Able to program 168 initialload OK, but get the following error "lcd.c:22: error: 'PD7' undeclared (first use in this function)" when using the 328p. Followed the steps to convert to the 328p and used the same code (initialload) with changes per Nerdkits. Removed the 328p changes and the 168 chip programmed fine. The 328p chip purchased from Nerdkits so expect it to have the correct bootloader. Checked lcd.c file and it appears the same as when downloaded. Help please...make it simple as I am very new to this stuff.

July 10, 2011
by konakat

Forgot to attach pix of command prompt

1 ![PD7 Error] http://i.imgur.com/sNag4.jpg

July 13, 2011
by hevans
(NerdKits Staff)

Hi Konakat,

This seems like you missed the #include in the C file as described in the Nano guide, and possibly the modification for the Makefile. Note when you modify the makefile make does not automatically know that something changed, so you need to remove all .o and .hex files from both the working project directory, and the libnerdkits directory.

Make sure you have the io_328p.h file in your libnerdkits directory, and make sure you are including it in your .c fle. Wipe all .o and .hex files, and give that a try. Let us know what you find.

Humberto

July 14, 2011
by konakat

Still getting same message - triple checked all files and they appear to be correct. The io_328p.h file is in the libnerdkits folder and all "o" and "hex" files deleted. The hardware is working as I see the congratulations message. Here are the files:

libnerdkits makefile:

GCCFLAGS=-g -Os -Wall -mmcu=atmega328p

all: delay.o lcd.o uart.o

delay.o: delay.c
    avr-gcc ${GCCFLAGS} -o delay.o -c delay.c

lcd.o: lcd.c