NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Customer Testimonials » Engineer's notes

June 27, 2011
by ewooten

I am a mechanical engineer, a ham radio operator, and an old (53) programmer, just so you know where I am coming from. I like to tinker and have over the years been tempted to get into micro-controllers but never got around to it. I really didn't know where to start.

I had a project in mind that required an MCU so I started doing some research and discovered the Nerdkit. It looked like the perfect fit for what I had in mind so I took the plunge. I am glad I did!

• Shipping: 3 days.
  • The instructions are great. Kit is easy to build.
  • I got my project working in just a few days.

My biggest issue was the C code. Rusty would be an understatement. If there is one improvement I could make it would be publish more source code! I also found this site excellent. It would be a good link for beginners. http://www.cprogramming.com/

All in all I am very pleased. An inexpensive education and introduction to micro-controllers.

June 28, 2011
by Rick_S

Welcome Sign

You'll find that as for resources there are few better than this community. If you get stumped, a question here on the forum will often get you the answer you are looking for.

I'm sure as you play with the micro your programming will come back to you, and soon enough you'll be here giving help as many of us have.

BTW, there are a few other fellow HAMs on here as well. Myself (N9IWX) while not an active HAM still hold a current license, and I know of at least one other.

You'll also find the members here quite respectful of one another. So don't be afraid to post what you may seem to think of as a silly question.