NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Project Help and Ideas » Troubles connecting gyro to ATmega168

April 12, 2011
by MeekMoe

Hello, I am fairly new to nerd kits and I am currently working on a project where I am connecting a 2 axis gyro to my ATmega168. The gyro I bought (http://www.pololu.com/catalog/product/1266) came on a breakout board and seemed relatively easy to hook up. However when I try to get reading off of it on the LCD i get nothing. It starts up reading all zeros and if i try moving it around nothing happens to the zeros. sometimes there is junk printed out on lines i am not even printing to.

Is that a power issue? I thought that it might, like in the case with a servo, so i powered the gyro using the usb cable (worked for the the servo). Behavior was unchanged.

Another thing i did which i am not sure i should have but also not sure it matters. I miss read the website and used the 3.3V on the gyro and connected it to BOTH Vrefs (on breakout board and on microcontroller). I also connected both ground pins on the breakout board.

I was using code similar to the temperature sensor code but i seems like i am missing something... If anyone has any input it would be greatly appreciated. Ill comment code and post it soon.

MeekMoe

April 12, 2011
by MeekMoe

ok here is my code. hope it amuses some.

// gyro.c
// for NerdKits with ATmega168
//

#define F_CPU 14745600

#include <stdio.h>
#include <math.h>

#include <avr/io.h>
#include <avr/interrupt.h>
#include <avr/pgmspace.h>
#include <inttypes.h>

#include "../libnerdkits/delay.h"
#include "../libnerdkits/lcd.h"
#include "../libnerdkits/uart.h"

// PIN DEFINITIONS:
//
// PC4 -- LED anode
// PB2 -- servo signal (OC1B)
// PC0 -- X axis of gyro
// PC1 -- Y axis of gyro

void pwm_set(uint16_t x) {
  OCR1B = x;
}

#define PWM_MIN 1300