NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Microcontroller Programming » Why muck with the MakeFile?

March 24, 2011
by Ralphxyz

It seems that a display of maturity as a "programmer" is to use a custom Makefile. Why?

What is the advantage of using a custom Makefile over just using a generic Nerdkits Makefile?

Ok, I like using bretm's $(ProjectName) and adding the "clean" function has benefits to get rid of prior builds and then changing the optimization flags in AVRDUDE can be a necessity. But all of this can be done within the scope of modifying the initialload project Makefile.

I used to be a project manager and have worked with some very talented established programmer and with some really brilliant kids just starting their careers.

One of the topics that would come up often in our progress meetings would be using abstract off beat coding techniques. Thing that would work but only the originator would recognize or know how to deal with (at the moment not six months down the line). I "tried" to enforce the policy that "Just Because You Can Do Something Does Not Mean That You Should".

Now I am not a programmer and every piece of "working" code that I ever contributed to a project was re-written as soon as any programmer got their hands onto it. So I do not really have the mindset of a accomplished programmer but what is it about using complicated (to me) Makefiles. If I make modifications I would hope they simplify the operations making them more generic.

Now I know that most IDEs will also generate Makefiles is this where it starts? You are a learning programmer and your IDE makes these Makefiles for you and you read them and maybe the Make Manual and just start making up your own.