NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Basic Electronics » Alternating LED circuit

January 27, 2011
by fiugrads2011

I am trying to make two alternating LEDs. I am fairly new to electronics, and I am using the ATMEGA168-20pu microcontroller. I am very good in computer programming,and only need help with the electrical wiring, and I am wondering if anyone can show me a layout that I can look at so I can just connect wires in the breadboard to my microcontroller(i.e an electrical circuit layout).

January 27, 2011
by Hexorg

What do you mean by alternating LEDs? When out of 2 LEDs only one is on at a time?

If so, easiest way is to connect it like this ( <| is LED):

MCU  PB5 ----<|------330_Ohm_resistor------VCC
MCU  PB4 ----<|------330_Ohm_resostor------VCC

then in code, when PB5 is 0 - connected LED will be on, when PB5 is 1 - off.

If you have some NOT gates you can make a circuit that will have 1 LED on when PB5 is 1, and another LED on, when PB5 is 0:

MCU PB5 --+--<|----330_ohm_resistor----VCC
          |
          +--NOT_GATE----<|---330_ohm_resistor----VCC
February 02, 2011
by fiugrads2011

I have several more questions, I apologize as I am new to electrical circuits. 1. If I am using a 9V battery, how and where would I connect it to my microcontroller(Atmega 168-20pu). 2. How do I connect the USB to the microcontroller to program it, i.e what wires( black , Red, green, yellow) go where? to what pin ports? I am using pins PB5 & PB4 for output pins. 3. My computer tells me it cannot recognize the USB,i.e it cannot find the driver. What driver is required for the USB? and where can I find it ? (it is from the Nerdkits kit). 4. How do I connect my LCD display to show me the output times for my LEDS?

February 02, 2011
by Rick_S