NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Project Help and Ideas » using a strain gauge to build shock dyno

January 11, 2011
by microdad17

I want to build a shock dyno to test racecar shocks and I need help. I have little to no knowledge of electronics or programming. I purchased the Nerdkit because I found the straingauge tutorial on Youtube. I have had this idea for several years and thought this may be the answer. I am willing to try and learn the electronics part of this project but have no idea of what needs to be done. Let me layout the project as I have it in mind for now.

1. Push down button ( using rocker switch). Fire air solenoid to open valve to air solenoid and extend air cylinder (this puts compression on shock). a. This will put “tension” on the strain gauge. It will give a negative voltage signal. b. I need to record and display the highest negative voltage in lbs on the lcd screen and have it labeled compression.

2. Push up button ( using rocker switch). Fire air solenoid to open valve to air solenoid and retract air cylinder (this puts rebound on shock). a. This will put “compression” on the strain gauge. It will give a positive voltage signal. b. I need to record and display the highest positive voltage in lbs on the lcd screen and have it labeled rebound.

Like I stated above, I know basically nothing about electronics. But I am willing to TRY and learn. As far as the programming part of the project, well it may as well be in a different language to me. And I am really not that interested in learning that part (I am willing to pay to have that part done). This is the starting point of my dyno. I would like to have it go further and be more automated but for now this will work for me. Please keep in mind that I will need step-by-step instructions.