NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Microcontroller Programming » N00B memory allocation questions

January 04, 2011
by Sciencenerd

Hello,

While I've been a mainframe assembler programmer for 30 years this is my first foray into microcontrollers. So far so good. I got through the tempsensor project just fine and even have everything working in Eclipse after a dozen hours or so of playing around with it.

I need some clarification on memory. I have the ATMega168 chip. I see from the datasheet that there is 16K of programmable memory, 1K of SRAM and 512 bytes of EEPROM.

Where exactly does the bootloader reside? Is it at the top of the programmable memory? This would mean that I have less than 16K of programmable memory correct?

What is in EEPROM? Nothing? If so then I can store whatever I wish there correct? (With respect to the limited life of EEPROM). Will EEPROM get erased when a new program is loaded(other than the bootloader)?

Is the only purpose of the bootloader to provide logic to load applications? What would be the difference between bootloaders for this chip and say the 32K version?

Thanks in advance to all who help. This looks like a very friendly forum. I'll try and pitch in where I can.

BTW, you guys do it backwards. Bit 0 is on the left :-)

January 04, 2011
by Rick_S

The EEPROM is like an old school EPROM except it can be easily erased electronically instead of requiring the UV eraser. As new, the EEPROM is blank and can be used for any purpose you choose, I've used it to store calibration info for an inductive joystick circuit I created. My program would check the EEPROM for a certain value if that wasn't there, it would force a calibration routine to run which would then store it's reference points in the EEPROM for the extreme positions and center positions.