NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Basic Electronics » angular position sensors and multiplexing

November 28, 2010
by d3adl0ck3

Hello all, I am just getting started with electronics and have a project in mind that requires the measurement of a number of changing angles at the same time. In my naivete I assume I need a bag full of sensors that measure an angle (rotation about one that is) and some way to multiplex them together. That is about as far as I can get on my own. Does anyone have a suggestion as to what kind of parts might be used for this? Picture a crane or something where I need to know the angle of the arm and it's rotation relative to the ground but with a lot more points of measurement required. More details can easily be supplied once I know what sorts of questions there might be. Thanks in advance for any help!

November 28, 2010
by bretm

How many degrees of angular precision do you need in the measurements? For angular position measurement you can use a rotary encoder. You can pay big bucks for encoders with 1-degree precision, but you can hack together a single-track encoder to get 6-degree precision. You just need a disc and five optical sensors.

Instead of a rotary encoder you might be able to translate the rotational movement into linear movement and then follow the digital calipers tutorial to get a precise measurement.

November 28, 2010
by d3adl0ck3