NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Support Forum » tempsensor fail: printf_P and fprintf_P don't output anything

October 23, 2010
by dthomas

I have completed the tempsensor tutorial project. Everything seems to be working: I get temperature reads and all. Except for those parts of the program that use the streams, both fprintf_P and printf_P don't output anything.

Sample output:

ADC:  144 of  1024
˚F

This tells me, that the wiring is alright. It also tells me, that the libnerdkits/lcd.h can talk to the lcd. I have made sure that the tempsensor/tempsensor.c and tempsensor_edu/tempsensor.c files are identical.

I'm pretty new to hardware, but from my experience as a software developer I guess the problem might be in linking the <avr/io.h> library. If it is, then this information might be useful:

macbook:~/workspace/nerdkit/sample/tempsensor_edu dthomas$ make
avrdude -c avr109 -p m168 -b 115200 -P /dev/cu.PL2303-0000103D -U flash:w:tempsensor.hex:a

Connecting to programmer: .
Found programmer: Id = "FDL v02"; type = S
    Software Version = 0.2; No Hardware Version given.
Programmer supports auto addr increment.
Programmer supports buffered memory access with buffersize=128 bytes.

Programmer supports the following devices:
    Device code: 0x35

avrdude: AVR device initialized and ready to accept instructions

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 0.00s

avrdude: Device signature = 0x1e9406
avrdude: NOTE: FLASH memory has been specified, an erase cycle will be performed
         To disable this feature, specify the -D option.
avrdude: erasing chip
avrdude: reading input file "tempsensor.hex"
avrdude: input file tempsensor.hex auto detected as Intel Hex
avrdude: writing flash (10404 bytes):