NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Microcontroller Programming » Mac problems with programming

September 13, 2010
by vargona

I am trying to do the first steps in programming my microcontroller with the temperature project in the PDF book. It is telling me to use terminal which I am not familiar with, and I need to find the file with AVRDUDEFLAGS which I cannot find, any tips? I am very new to programming.

September 13, 2010
by hevans
(NerdKits Staff)

Hi vargona,

The file you need to find is the Makefile. The Makefile is the set of instructions that compile and upload the code to the chip. Every project you put together will have its own separate Makefile which is found inside each projects folder (along with the C code). To find and take a look at the Makefile open up the Code folder you downloaded, double click the initialload folder, and there you will find the Makefile.

Let me know if something doesn't make sense.

Humberto

September 13, 2010
by Ralphxyz

Just type Terminal in spotlight. It should be your Top Hit or look down through the returned files for it.

Then cd to your project. Search the Nerdkit forum for Terminal for more instructions.

Ralph

September 13, 2010
by vargona

I found the Makefile, now is the USB cable supposed to show up on my desk top as a device? If it is then that is where my problem is and I need to check my wiring. Im just having trouble understanding where the files are located and if they are the right ones. Thanks for your help!

• Nick
September 14, 2010
by Ralphxyz

No it will not be on your desktop, see my reply from Aug 29th. This should get you started.