NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Microcontroller Programming » Initial programming

September 03, 2010
by J13

I bought this kit for my son who is eight. We put it together with no problems. Now we are trying to load the initial programming but are not having any luck with command prompt. The usb cable seems to be woring. I see were it says not to have anything larger than com5 but it installed on com19. I don't know if this is the problem or not. The problem with the command prompt says that I am no using proper syntax. I know nothing about where to start and am looking for any help.

September 03, 2010
by Ralphxyz

I assume you are using windows. Just try com3, com4, and com5.

You might do a re-install of the driver. What exactly are you saying to get "I am no using proper syntax".

This has worked for thousands of us so just take your time we'll get you going.

My dad would have bought me a Nerdkit, lucky kid.

Ralph

September 03, 2010
by J13

Ralph, Thanks for the quick response. I am having trouble navigating to the proper folder to get the initial load. I am not very good with DOS.

Open up the command line and navigate to the folder with the code in it. 3. List the files in the directory and make sure there is a file called Makefile. 4. Type “make” and press enter to run the “make” command

Dave

September 04, 2010
by Ralphxyz

I use C:nerdkitscodeprojectfolder. Make sure your code folder has the libnerdkits folder and you should be good to go!

Keep us posted with your next question.

DOS really isn't that hard to get around in once you understand the path you are travelling.

Ralph

September 04, 2010
by J13

This is where the file is located. The code folder is there.

C:UsersDavid WilliamsDesktopCodelibnerdkits

Here is what I get in command prompt.