NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Microcontroller Programming » Tempsensor Variation Problem

May 21, 2009
by dylanjkj1997

Hi. I'm new to Nerdkits. I don't know much about C (but I've used Easy-C)and I don't know much about electronics, just pretty basic stuff. I made a change to the tempsensor program to make it display celsius too. Her's the program: http://dylandylanjkjk.kirdahy.googlepages.com/code What's wrong with it?

May 21, 2009
by Guss

I made a similar change when I initially built the Tempsensor project.

I see you have a function

double FtoC{
    return sample * ((temp_avg-32)*5/9=Celsius_temp);
 }

but I don't see where you call it. Also, it does not accept any variables to calculate with.

First, the FtoC function should occur before main() (unless you use a prototype). Next the function should read:

double FtoC(double f)
{
    return ((5.0/9.0) * (f - 32.0));
    // where f is the fahrenheit value
 }

Next, include:

//convert to Celcius
    Celcius_temp = FtoC(temp_avg);

after the for loop, which reads the sensor and calculates the average temperature (f).

On a side note, general convention in C is to use lower case for function and variable names. Only use capitals for constants (NULL, EOF, etc) and in a few other special cases (a bit rusty on the other rules.)

May 21, 2009
by mcai8sh4

Welcome, and thanks Guss... I had just finished typing my response, basically saying the same thing as you (but not as clear :P ), then my feed reader popped up showing me that you'd already answered.

Anyway, dylanjkj1997, welcome. I can't really add anything more than Guss has already said, play around and see how you get on. If you get stuck again, I'm sure someone will be able to help.