NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Basic Electronics » Good material on learning electronics.

August 04, 2010
by TexanBackpacker

I feel that I have hit some what of a brick wall when it comes to electronics (well sort of). The problem is that I have no real experience or basic knowledge of how electronics. I do have some idea of the math portion (I took physics this last year), but I am not very strong when it comes to understanding how to build certain things. I was wondering if there are any good tutorials on the internet or books that start from the very beginning and work your way up by doing projects. They don't have to be all digital, I would like to try out analog.

Thanks!

August 04, 2010
by mongo

Digital is not really what I consider to be electronics. It is more or less a collection of electronic circuits already made and assembled to perform certain tasks.

Although it requires some understanding of electronics, it is a higher level similar to the difference between assembly and Windows, where programming.

To get the basics, you need to understand electricity and Ohm's laws. You will need to understand mathematical formulations for determining certain values to achieve the desired results.

I have a good starter book that goes right into it. Published back in the early 1970's, it gets right into the basics before the digital age really blossomed. The book is called "Electronics for everyone" and explains with examples and projects to get a grasp on the concepts.

I am sure there are still books like that available. Mine was a used library book that I bought from my old high school in 1975.