NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Support Forum » Multi sensors part three Bad readings

April 06, 2010
by Ralphxyz

Note the Sensor readings on the LCD at the right.

PC0(Sensor0),PC2(Sensor2) and PC4(Sensor4) are at VCC 4.92 volts.

PC1(Sensor1),PC3(Sensor3) and PC5(Sensor5) are at GND.

Sensor0 (PC0) is reasonable accurate with 494 at 4.92 volts.

Sensor2 (PC2) is approximately 2 times Sensor0.

Sensor4 (PC4) is approximately 3 times Sensor0.

Both Sensor2 and 4 should also read 494.

Sensor1 (PC1) should be 0.00 but at 499

Sensor3 (PC3) is approximately 2 times Sensor1.

Sensor5 (PC5) is approximately 3 times Sensor1.

Sensor 1, 3 and 5 should read 0.00

To see the code and more pictures.

The other pictures illustrate using multiple LM34s and one pot.

This is my first project and I really do not know programing, electronics or microprocessors so I relly need your help.

I have seen other threads where people had problems with multiple sensor readings but did not see a applicable solution for my problem.

Thanks,

Ralph

April 06, 2010
by hevans
(NerdKits Staff)

Hi Ralph,

I have to admit we were quite perplexed by this one for a while, but I think we found the issue. Take a look at this section of your code, and pay particular attention to how it does the averaging:

ADMUX=mux;
for(i=0; i<100; i++) 
{
  last_sample = adc_read();
  this_temp = sampleToFahrenheit(last_sample);

// add this contribution to the average
  temp_avg = temp_avg + this_temp/100.0;

switch(mux)
  {
      //...sets the right sensor to temp_avg
  }     
  //delay_ms(1000);

}