NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Support Forum » Switching between C compilers on Mac OSX?

February 15, 2010
by Jon

Hi -- I'm just getting started and I am w-a-y over my head right now. I am trying to play with the NK but also trying to learn C progarmming at the same time.

I am using a Mac and the AVRMacPack for the NK.

In going through the NK manual, it had me set the AVR version of the compiler by running "avr-gcc-select". When I do a 'set' in terminal now, I see the AVRMacPack directory in the path:

PATH=/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/X11/bin:/usr/local/AVRMacPack/bin

I'm not all the way done with my kit in terms of trying out all the downloading, but the makefile for the first NK compile seemed to work without errors.

The problem seems to be that I can't do a simple compile to go back to learning C with simple things like 'Hello World'. I looked at avr-gcc-select and it looks like it uses 'link' (ln) and 'unlink' (rm) to set the path for the AVR version of the gcc compiler (I guess that's redundant, huh?). Do I need to do something to re-set back to the prior settings/path when I want to compile simple C programs using the non-AVR version of gcc? If that is the case, what is the 'undo' for avr-gcc-select?

When I try to compile a regular C file now like this:

gcc samp.c -o samp

I am getting unknown flag errors:

/usr/bin/ld: /usr/lib/gcc/powerpc-apple-darwin8/4.0.0/../../../libSystem.dylib unknown flags (type) of section 9 (TEXT,dof_plockstat) in load command 0 /usr/bin/ld: /usr/lib/libSystem.B.dylib unknown flags (type) of section 9 (TEXT,dof_plockstat) in load command 0 collect2: ld returned 1 exit status

(The double underscores in the error msgs above are being converted to BOLD and I don't know how to quote that so it doesn't do that, sorry.)