NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Microcontroller Programming » clearing data in serail buffer

February 09, 2010
by sask55

I am very new to C and micro programming .I am attempting to set up two way communications between my pc and the micro. Eventually between VBA applications on the pc and couple of digital calliper units and stepper motors connected to the micro. I have successfully connected one of the digital callipers to input to the micro. I also have the micro reporting on the serial USB to the VBA application. I need the code to clear the buffer before each new reading is sent to the uart. When my application in vba calls for a current calliper reading I get a very long list of all the reading that have occurred since the last call. I need to reset the uart buffer before the micro sends the current reading each time. An equivalent example in the Nerdkit sample code is the tempsensor data sent to the serial. If I make a call from my VBA application to the serial port when the tempsensor is connected and running I get a list of every reading since the last call. I need to reset or clear the last temp before sending the current one to the uart, so that if the VBA application calls data from the serial I receive only the last (most current) reading.

I know this should be very simple I just cannot seam to figure it out.

Darryl

February 11, 2010
by hevans
(NerdKits Staff)

Hi sask55,