NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Microcontroller Programming » Total C virgin Newbie

January 07, 2010
by RICHRICH36

I will admit, I am a TOTAL NEWBIE. I am trying to get in the world of microcontrollers and the first thing I want to do is emulate credit pulses for some game machines that use digital coin acceptors. The following code was provided to me but I have absolutely no idea how to turn it in to something useful for the atmega. Anyone out there that wasnt to help me?

;***********

;equates section

tmr0 equ 1 ;means "tmr0" is file 1 status equ 3 ;means "status" is file 3 porta equ 5 ;means "porta" is file 5 portb equ 6 ;means "portb" is file 6 trisa equ 85h ;means "trisa" (the "porta" I/O selection) is file 85h trisb equ 86h ;means "trisa" (the "portb" I/O selection) is file 85h option_r equ 81h ;means the "option" register is file 81h zerobit equ 2 ;means "zerobit" is bit 2 count equ 0ch ;means "count" is file 0ch

;***********

list p=16f84 org 0 goto start

;***********

;configuration bits __config h'3ff0' ;selects LP oscillator, WDT off, PUT on (Power On Timer), code protection ;disabled

;***********

;subroutine section

;Coil Sense delay

sense1 clrf tmr0 ;start timer0 loopa movf tmr0,w ;read tmr0 into working register sublw .5 ;time - 5 btfss status,zerobit ;check time - working register = 0 goto loopa ;time is not 0, so do it again retlw 0 ;time is 5, return to the last point in program

;Travel between sensors delay

travel clrf tmr0
loopb movf tmr0,w sublw .3 btfss status,zerobit goto loopb retlw 0

;Led Sense delay

sense2 clrf tmr0
loopc movf tmr0,w
sublw .4
btfss status,zerobit
goto loopc
retlw 0

;***********

;configuration section

start bsf status,5 ;turns to bank 1 movlw b'00011111' ;5 bits of "porta" are inputs movwf trisa

movlw   b'00000000'