NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Project Help and Ideas » Interactive LCD (laptop <=> MC device)

April 14, 2009
by ueharaa

Hello all, I just wanted to share my first Nerdkits project. It's a small project that I hope will be useful as a starting place for command line interface for future projects. This is my first project, so I offer my experience without any guarantees of anything working :)

Test: To communicate with my device. I want to open a program/command prompt and type something and have the LCD display it.

Details:

software requirements:

1. python
  2. pyserial ** there was some simple python syntax error that needed to be fixed in miniterm.py (I can't remember what it was but, I think it wouldn't run unless you fixed the error. Missing colon perhaps?)
  3. pywin32 ** needed for windows. Linux or mac systems probably won't need this.

wiring requirements: I followed the nerdkits setup for the temperature sensor and , make sure you can copy(burn?) your program to your device.

First Test: first test your connection to your device by running (you can also use putty in serial mode)

python miniterm.py -p YOURPORT -b 115200

if everything is hooked up properly you should see your temperature being displayed to console.

Second Test: I wrote this code to interact using miniterm.py It takes user input and displays it on the LCD and echos the input back to the console. Typing "q" will send it to it's dying loop.

Code:

#include <stdio.h>
#include <math.h>
#include "../libnerdkits/delay.h"
#include "../libnerdkits/lcd.h"
#include "../libnerdkits/uart.h"
#include <ctype.h>
#include <avr/pgmspace.h>

static void delay_1s(void) {
  uint8_t i;

for (i = 0; i < 100; i++)
    delay_ms(10);
}

int main() {
  // start up the LCD
  lcd_init();