NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Microcontroller Programming » Assembly Language & C ++

November 22, 2009
by MC_Newb

Is it possible to load straight assembly language code to the MicroController (I have a tool to convert C ++ to Assembly Language code)

Is there a list of method limitations/functions that can be performed in C ++? For example, do certain sensors or electronic components have problems implementing C ++ correctly? (this is the reason I am asking if you can load Assembly Language code directly).

BEWARE :O)-- I am a high-level language programmer, and the closest language I code in is C#. As a result, the questions above my not even apply to what we are trying to do. Thanks NerdKits & NK Users for your assistance!

John

November 22, 2009
by mikedoug

All processors (Atmel MPUs included) have a machine language. Assembly language is often used in place of machine language for terminology because it is often a 1-to-1 correlation to the actual machine code. So yes, at some point EVERYTHING we program for the MPU is converted into assembly before it is uploaded to the MPU. In order to use C++ you would need a compiler that knows how to compile C++ to the machine language for the MPU (or as you call it "a tool to convert C++ to assembly language).

The caveat here is that not all machine languages are alike. The Atmel MPUs use a vastly different machine language than your x86 desktop/laptop. The question then becomes what platform does your tool target?