NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Basic Electronics » Schematics for LED Heart Project?

November 11, 2009
by mt03f

I'm new to electronics but this LED Heart project sounds like fun.

I was wondering if there were any schematics I could follow to connect all the wires and components to the AtMega168 and the breadboard.

Or if anyone could offer their help in explaining the steps I need to take to make the proper connections as they are not very clear on the pictures.

Thanks in advance!

November 11, 2009
by hevans
(NerdKits Staff)

Hi mo0f,

The led heart is certainly a fun project. I know it might not seem like it, but the schematic presented under LED Wiring Plan, of the LED Heart Video Tutorial really is the schematic we used. There is one "row" wire that runs all the way around the heart, pairs of LEDs are connected to it alternating anode and cathode. The other lead of each of these LEDs is connected together to one wire and connected to the indicated pin on the MCU. On that schematic PB1, PB2, PC5, etc, all refer to the actual MCU pins as defined in the ATmega168 datasheet.

The reasoning behind this wiring scheme can probably become more clear if you familiarize yourself with the LED Array. For the LED heart we used basically the same scheme, except we only use one "row" and wrap that row around the heart. Let me know if it still doesn't make sense, ill try to be more clear.

Humberto

November 11, 2009
by mt03f

Hello Humberto!

Thanks for the quick reply. I follow everything explained on the tutorial. I have actually done all the soldering already.