NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Everything Else » Questions from someone seeking a Masters Degree

March 18, 2015
by jmuthe

I got a Bachelors degree in Electronics Engineering in 2005 , and have worked as an electronic technician since then. However, I want to go back for a Masters Degree so that I could be better qualified for an electronic engineering job. I have a few questions first.

1) If I do get a Masters degree, would it be pretty easy to get a decent paying job as an electronic engineer. Keep in mind that I had a 3.98 average when I got my Bachelors degree and have over eight years experience as an electronic technician. I always hear that there is a need for more engineers but I know that there are many types of engineers (electronic, mechanical, chemical, industrial, etc. ) Are electronic engineering jobs quite abundant all over the industrialized world or only in certain areas?

2) I did pretty good in college but I graduated almost ten years ago so a lot of what I learned may be lost. Do you have any suggestions of what material I should review in the few months before I would attend college?

3) I am interested in a university that says that the program is Masters by Research, which I never heard of before. Apparently, instead of attending classes, the student would submit a dissertation topic and spend their time researching and completing their dissertation. I think that this makes the course more flexible but it doesn't make sense to me.