NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Microcontroller Programming » 4 Digit 7 Segment LED Display

September 10, 2013
by Affarram

Hello All,

I am new to the world of programming with a Nerdkit therefor I have a lot to learn. I have run into a road block on my latest project and although I have made some progress in the right direction I feel as though I am at a lose with where to go next. To give you a brief description of my project, I simply would like to display time on a 4 digit LED Display. I did a test run and I was able to display a two digit number on two different 7 Segmented LEDs. I run into my problem when I try to use a 4 digit display. After a little bit of research I found out that I am to use the SPI Bus. I tried to mimic what was done in the multi-LED array project with no success. I wanted to know if anyone can guide me in the right direction with what to do?

I found two different data sheets for this display. Here is one for the chip that drives the display http://gtbtech.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/PT6961.pdf

and this is all I could find on the display itself http://gtbtech.com/?p=528

This is as far as I have gotten in my code.

//
    //  FourDigitDisplay.c
    //  
    //
    //  Created by Sean on 9/7/13.
    //
    //

#define F_CPU 14745600

#include <stdio.h>

#include <avr/io.h>
    #include <avr/interrupt.h>
    #include <avr/pgmspace.h>
    #include <inttypes.h>

#include "../libnerdkits/delay.h"
    #include "../libnerdkits/uart.h"

// PIN DEFINITIONS:
    // Red Rail     Pin 1 on Display
    // PB5 - SCK    Pin 3 on Display
    // PB4 - MISO   Pin 5 on Display
    // PB3 - MOSI   Pin 4 on Display
    // PB1 - SS     Pin 2 on Display
    // Blue Rail    Pin 6 on Display

void master_init(){

//set MOSI,SCK,SS as output