NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Everything Else » Basketball Scoreboard/Clock Project

April 29, 2013
by Keyster

Here is a picture of my newest project so far. I have the front panel done and am now installing the electronics on the back. The top scoreboard is the "sample" i am going by. This is going to be a clock in my man cave (garage). The top section will be hours and minutes. The "home" score will be seconds and the "guest" score will be temperature and humidity. The "period" section will be "A" or "P" (AM or PM).

I am linking the picture to facebook which I have never tried before. If the picture does not work I will fix it tonight from home. (is it working fine in the preview window)

scoreboard project

April 29, 2013
by pcbolt

That looks awesome...

April 29, 2013
by xodin

Cool project. You could also tie it in to the computer over UART to retrieve the score/time/period/possession of a live sports game off of the internet, and have it update the data on the board in near real-time.

April 29, 2013
by Keyster

that is a great idea. i have written software to pull data from websites before but not sure where to get "near real time" scores and time from. i know ESPN does stuff like that but it would need to be in some kind of RSS feed or XML format or i would be completely lost. i will google around for that. Thanks Xodin.

I am going to have a wireless RFM22B module in it so it can get the time from my computer in the house via a "base station" Nerdkit. Pushing information to it should be quite easy once i have that setup. (in theory anyway) :)

April 29, 2013
by Rick_S

Cool project. I'm looking forward to seeing it progress.

Rick

April 29, 2013
by Keyster

here is a Youtube video of a test run when i got the first panel together.

Test Run #1

May 02, 2013
by xodin