NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Project Help and Ideas » PS2 keyboard project not working

February 23, 2013
by Johnny544

Hi-

I'm a newbie who has successfully completed 4 projects. I decided to try the PS2 keyboard project, but I can't get it to work. When I run it, all I get is a repeating symbol on the LCD (about 1 per second). When I type, nothing happens.

Just for fun I tried swapping the data and clock lines, and I got a repeating question mark.

I'm not sure this is pertinent, but I bought a USB/PS2 combo keyboard. It came with a USB connector and a USB-to-PS2 adapter. I was able to identify the four wires as per the instructions by plugging in the adapter.

When I power up the breadboard, the green lights flash on the keyboard, but when I press Numlock or Capslock the green lights don't come on.

I apologize for cross-posting this. I tried the Support forum first but didn't get any suggestions.

Thanks in advance for your help,

John

February 24, 2013
by Rick_S

How many wires are in the cable for your keyboard? It may be firing up in USB mode causing your problem. I'd suggest getting a true PS/2 only keyboard and giving it a go.

Rick

February 24, 2013
by Johnny544

Thanks Rick. I was thinking along these lines when I started to research USB-to-PS2 adapters. There are 4 wires and a chassis ground, so it seemed at first that it would work. I used a continuity tester and found a one-to-one relationship between the 4 wires and the appropriate pins in the PS2 connector. Anyway, I think my next step is to pick up a real PS2 keyboard.

One more question. In the code I downloaded, there is a line that is commented out that maybe shouldn't be?

Screenshot of keyboard code

It's:

DDRC &= ~(1<<PC4);