NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Everything Else » Questions about winAVR

January 31, 2013
by Q

I'm new to programming and am a little confused about the winAVR environment. Is it made specifically for microcontrollers or can I run normal C programs on it (such as printing the famed "Hello World" on a console of some kind). Also, I was wondering about Makefiles. I understand the theory behind them, but where would I write one if I wanted to write one myself. I have tried searching the web for answers, but was unsuccessful. I would greatly appreciate it if someone could shed some light on the subject.

January 31, 2013
by pcbolt

Hi Q -

The winAVR compilers are written specifically for MCU's (microcontroller) but you can write C programs for them "almost" the same as normal C programs. Since you are working on a platform that has no operating system, the concept of writing to a console or reading from a file do not have the same meaning. You can write a program that prints "Hello World" to an LCD wired to the MCU or to a serial port on a PC which then prints to the console. You get to use most of the standard C library functions (math, string formatting, printf etc) so it is no too much of a stretch from normal C. The Users Manual is a good place to poke around when you get stuck, and of course the datasheets for the MCU are a must.

Makefiles are just text files with a few quirks to them. Some of the formatting MUST use tabs as beginning of lines and not spaces so some text editors do not do a good job when cutting and pasting (Notepad is not usually a good choice). A really good reference for Make files is HERE.

February 01, 2013
by Q

OK, thanks.

June 13, 2013
by bnjleo