NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Everything Else » Where can I take lessons on programming?

December 11, 2012
by jmuthe

Hello, I have been interested in taking lessons on programming and I am not sure where to go. I learned a little in college when I studied electronics but I would like to learn more. I know that the simple response would be to tell me to go to college and take programming courses but I don't really like that option. The reason I don't like it is because when you go to college, you can't just take what you want but you also have to take a bunch of unrelated courses. For example, when I studied electronic in college, I also had to take classes in unrelated subjects like English, History, Economics, Psychology, etc to get a degree. I also had to take a math class but I could understand why, because I needed to use math to understand how some circuits work.

Don't get me wrong. I have no disrespect for the unrelated courses. I actually really appreciated some of them like the English class because that class taught me how to express myself better, which is a good lesson for everyone. However, at this point of my life, I would like to find a place that just teaches programming without the other unrelated subjects because I don't have the time or money to take many other courses. This was done with other lessons I tried to learn. For example, I was able to take piano lessons without learning other unrelated courses, take a drivers-ed class by itself, and learn karated by itself. Is there any way I could take programming lesson by itself as well?

December 11, 2012
by pcbolt

Hi jmuthe -