NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Microcontroller Programming » use of strcat fuction

September 23, 2012
by sask55

I am having an issue passing arguments to strcat function.

Can I use the strcat function to concatenate one string onto another on the MCU?

Can anyone advice me what these warnings are indicating when I compile may code?

Warning: passing argument 2 of ‘strcat’ makes pointer from integer without a cast

I get that warming message for each line of code where I have tried to use strcat when I compile the code. The code does load but is not working as I expected I don’t understand what the message is saying. I have very little experience using c string arrays or pointers.

copy of variable def stamtents

//holder vaiable for date time
         char incoming = 0;
         char WkDay[10];
         char Date[19];
         char Time [12];
         uint8_t LC;

copy of the vatiable fill statments

// read char and fill WkDay untill , is read
        strcpy (WkDay,"");
         while  (incoming != 12){
      incoming = uart_read();
      strcat (WkDay, incoming);
      }

strcpy (Date,"");

// fill Date for 5 char after , is read  
    while  (incoming != 012) {
      incoming = uart_read();
      strcat (Date, incoming);
      } 
    for (LC =1;LC <=5;LC++){
        incoming = uart_read();
        strcat (Date, incoming);
      }

strcpy (Time,"");

// fill Time untill end char is read
    while  (incoming != 76){
      incoming = uart_read();
      strcat (Time, incoming);
      }

Strangely the indented code sections are not showing up as code in the Preview. I have no idea why not.

Perhaps this is not even the correct approach to fill string variable one charter a time as they are returned form the uart_read function. Any comments or ideas would be appreciated.

September 23, 2012