NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Basic Electronics » Bluetooth Please HELP!

July 28, 2012
by dqle

Hi guys,

I recently bought the following bluetooth module on ebay: http://www.ebay.ca/itm/251047105803?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2649#ht_1971wt_1037

What I want to do is be able to send a command, from my computer, the the bluetooth module connected to the Atmega168 MCU. This would then turn one of my output pins to high or low (so i can control an LED).

I am extremely new to electronics and was hoping to get to guidance on how to proceed. There is little information given from the manufacture of the Bluetooth device (WaveShare).

There are 6 pins on the Bluetooth device and these are my interpretations:

1) VCC - this module requires 3.6V, the rail on my breadboard supplies about 5v, I don't have a voltage regular that brings it down to 3.6V, can I add a 1K resistor, in series with the supply to the module, to bring it down to 3.6V ish? or should I buy something to step down the voltage. 2) GND - ground 3) EN - No idea what this is 4) STATE - No idea either 5) TXD - I connect this to RXD (Pin #2 on the MCU) 6) RXD - I connect this to TXD (Pin #3 on the MCU)

In addition, in terms of interfacing with the module from my computer, I was wondering what type of software I should be using (to send commands from my computer).

Also, in terms of programming, I had several questions:

1)Am I expecting: computer -> bluetooth - TX -> MCU RX (Sorry if this is a dumb question). 2) Does anyone know where I can find a source code from someone that has done this before, or some sort of tutorial