NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Microcontroller Programming » Software PWM (because I need 9 channels)

July 01, 2012
by Hexorg

Hey everyone! Long time no seeing! Sorry I haven't been with you guys, I've been very busy. On a bright note, I got a bachelors in EE, and I'm now enrolled in a grad school :D

Anyway, I'm trying to program a software PWM, because I need to control 9 PWM channels. For now let's just try to make one channel work. I figured I'd use a timer in normal mode with an overflow interrupt to calculate PWM routine. So I have two variables - volatile uint8_t counter, and volatile uint8_t pwm1;

In the interrupt routine I check if counter is smaller then pwm1, and if it is, then I set a pin HIGH, otherwise - LOW. Afterwards, if the counter equals to 255, I set it to 0, otherwise I increment it.

Sounds not too hard... But I can't seem to get anything working. Here's my code:

#include <avr/io.h>
#include <avr/interrupt.h>

#define LED1_PORT PORTB
#define LED1_DDR DDRB
#define LED1_R PB1
#define LED1_G PB0
#define LED1_B PB0

volatile uint8_t counter;
volatile uint8_t led1_rch, led1_gch, led1_bch;

ISR(TIMER0_OVF_vect)
{
    if (counter < led1_rch)
        LED1_PORT |= _BV(LED1_R);
    else
        LED1_PORT &= ~_BV(LED1_R);

if (counter < led1_gch)
        LED1_PORT |= _BV(LED1_G);
    else
        LED1_PORT &= ~_BV(LED1_G);

if (counter < led1_bch)
        LED1_PORT |= _BV(LED1_B);
    else
        LED1_PORT &= ~_BV(LED1_B);

if (counter == 255)
        counter = 0;
    else
        counter++;

}

void leds_init()
{
    LED1_DDR |= _BV(LED1_R) | _BV(LED1_G) | _BV(LED1_B);
    LED1_PORT &= ~(_BV(LED1_R) | _BV(LED1_G) | _BV(LED1_B));
    TIMSK0 |= _BV(TOIE0); // Enable overflow interrupt
    TCCR0B |= _BV(CS00);// no prescaler

counter = led1_rch = led1_gch = led1_bch = 0;
}