NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Basic Electronics » Stepper Motor Programming

June 18, 2012
by Ralphxyz

This is going to be a on going thread as everything leads to more questions!

Not that it matters but I am making a Pan/Tilt mechanism using Stepper Motors and not Servos.

I am attempting to use PORTB with PB1,PB2, PB3 and PB4.

So here is my first problem with my code.

At the beginning I have a #define:

//Left Right Bit Value
#define LRSTEP1 ((_BV(2)|(_BV(3))|(_BV(4))

When I try to compile I get this message:

stepper2.c: In function 'main':
stepper2.c:94:2: error: called object '0' is not a
function

Line 94 looks like this:

PORTB = LRSTEP1;

I have never tried to use a #define before!

I also tried with using Bit Shift instead of Bit Value and get the same error.

I am trying to read up on using #define but so far I cannot see my error.

Thanks, and this is just the first of many questions I will be having.

Ralph

June 18, 2012
by Ralphxyz

Oops here is another associated error:

stepper2.c:96:17: error: expected ')' before ';' token

I did something and moved the first error to line 96 instead of line 94.

I am still getting the same errors.

Ralph

June 18, 2012
by Ralphxyz

Damm you have to payattention to wha you are doing.

I had forgotten a ; on the previous line!!

PORTB = 0x00    // I do not know the state of any pins 
                // so turn them all off.

PORTB = LRSTEP1;

Duh, this is going to be a long road.

Ralph

June 18, 2012
by sask55

Hi Ralph.

For one thing it appears you have an exra ) after the 3 in the definition statment

#define LRSTEP1 ((_BV(2)|(_BV(3))|(_BV(4))

should be

#define LRSTEP1 ((_BV(2)|(_BV(3)|(_BV(4))
June 18, 2012
by Ralphxyz

Good eye sask55, thanks!!

Ralph

June 18, 2012
by Rick_S