NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Support Forum » MacBook Pro OSX 10.6.8 Programming Failure!!! Any help?

March 03, 2012
by Bamftoy

First things first, I'm loving my nerdkit. I'm new to this and have successfully programmed a few projects on it.

Now to my concern. I am using a MacBook Pro with OSX 10.6.8. and have tried USB drivers from nerdkits and prolific for this concern. I have also tried removing power to the nerdkit, unplug the cable, switch to programming mode, supply power to nerdkit and reconnected the cable, but to no avail.

I'm stumped.

When I run the "make" command in terminal it will flash the nerdkit. If I make changes to the code and try to flash or try to flash another project, programming fails. I cannot flash again until I restart my computer. I'm pretty sure the USB cable is fine, because after the first flash and trying to flash a second time it will erase the programming and leave the MCU cleaned up for the new flash.

Here is what I get in terminal when the flash fails.

=========================================================== Josh:led_blink Home$ make avrdude -c avr109 -p m168 -b 115200 -P /dev/cu.usbserial -U flash:w:led_blink.hex:a

Connecting to programmer: . Found programmer: Id = "FDL v02"; type = S Software Version = 0.2; No Hardware Version given. Programmer supports auto addr increment. Programmer supports buffered memory access with buffersize=128 bytes.

Programmer supports the following devices: Device code: 0x35

avrdude: AVR device initialized and ready to accept instructions

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 0.00s