NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Support Forum » Temperature Sensor Project

February 09, 2012
by nallelcm

I'm looking at the schematic for the temperature sensor. I have a question about it. I'm very new to the world of electronics, so looking at one of these diagrams is a little bit daunting, I'm working my way through some of this stuff slowly trying to understand it completely before moving on.

My question is, if I follow the directions, I am told to put a capacitor on pin 7 and 8 (to help maintain a more consistent 5v power even in high draw situations, ie. the beginning of a clock cycle (?)). However i see no reference to a capacitor in the circuit diagram. Is this an oversight, or is the capacitor just a nice thing to have but not required?

This leads me to my next question. I would have thought that a capacitor should be put inline in a circuit, but the directions state to put it on pin 7 and 8... where 7 is being fed from the + rail and 8 going into the ground.

Could someone explain to me why this doesn't cause a short... or how this would help in a high draw situation? if the mcu is requiring more power, wouldn't the power still drain into the ground than go into the mcu?

February 09, 2012
by hevans
(NerdKits Staff)

Hi nallelcm,

I'm not very sure which circuit diagram you are asking about. The bypass capacitor across pins 7 and 8 of the MCU is fairly important when running off the battery or USB power. If you had a separate, very good power supply that could provide a very steady 5V, then you might get away with not having it there, but ultimately it doesn't hurt.