NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Project Help and Ideas » Blink multiple LEDs?

December 25, 2011
by boxvic

Ok, so I'm an electronics technician with a degree in electronics technology. Unfortunately we never got to PICs or MCUs in school, and while I work with them on my job I never actually deal with their written programming. I do program several chips, but I just basically load the software and flash the chips; I never actually see any of the code. I run into issues at work though were the programming is the culprit and basically all I can do is reprogram a chip to reset it. I'd like to get a better understanding of the programming so that I can understand why specific glitches happen under certain circumstances.

Setting up the MCU circuit was no problem, and loading the pre-written code is just like another day at work. For the life of me though I cannot figure out the code. I thought I understood the LED blink program, and I tried to set other pins as blinking outputs but then I get this error:

make[1]: Entering directory mydirectory' make[1]: Nothing to be done forall'. make[1]: Leaving directory `mydirectory' avr-gcc -g -Os -Wall -mmcu=atmega168 -Wl,-u,vfprintf -lprintf_flt -Wl,-u,vfscan f -lscanf_flt -lm -o led_blink.o led_blink.c ../libnerdkits/delay.o ../libnerdki ts/lcd.o ../libnerdkits/uart.o led_blink.c: In function 'main': led_blink.c:37: warning: 'main' is normally a non-static function led_blink.c:58: error: expected declaration or statement at end of input make: *** [led_blink.hex] Error 1