NerdKits - electronics education for a digital generation

You are not logged in. [log in]

NEW: Learning electronics? Ask your questions on the new Electronics Questions & Answers site hosted by CircuitLab.

Microcontroller Programming » Problems locating "makefile"

December 15, 2011
by Tohyj

Hi All,

I am new here and i am not really good at programming. I tried to assemble up the nerdkit and everything is working fine.

However, on step 10b, it says "You need to open the Makefile in a text editor and edit the line that begins with AVRDUDEFLAGS. At the end you need to change “/dev/ttyUSB0” to “COM5” or whatever you saw in the previous steps."

The problem is, i cant really find the Makefile.

Can anyone help me in this ?

Thanks !

December 15, 2011
by Tohyj

Sorry guys, i manage to find the "makefile" in the code folder downloaded from the web.

Correct me if i am wrong. I opened the "makefile" using Programmer's Notepad and make the correction in step 10b.

am i doing the right thing ?

I have another issue, in step 10c, i opened up the command line, i typed "dir" to list down the diretory. after which i cant locate a file name "Makefile".

Can anyone tell me how can i locate that file ?

Regards, Tohyj

December 16, 2011
by met_fredrik

Hi! You should put your makefile in the same directory as your .c file. And then when you have changed the /dev/ttyUSB0 to whatever COM port you are using. And the filenames to the name of your .c file.(Should be 14 places to rename in total)

In addition you can just compile from Programmer's Notepad by going Tools -> Make All instead of using commandline.

I am assuming your using Windows since you haven't specified otherwise.

December 16, 2011
by hevans
(NerdKits Staff)

Hi Tohyj,

In addition to listening to met_fredriks awesome suggestions above, you might also want to take a look at this library article about the the command line. It is a quick introduction to moving around with the command line.

Humberto